# PSAC Local 22000

# **Draft minutes**

Annual General Meeting for Local 22000		
Dec 16 2020	Noon	Teleconference via Zoom
Present	Members in Attendance: 28 voting members in good standing in total. <i>Quorum achieved</i> .  Guests:  Jamey Mills, BC Regional Executive Vice-President, Patrick Bragg, Political Communications Officer, and Monica Urrutia, BC Regional Representative	
Agenda	Call to Order  Roll Call – Members in attendance  Approval of Agenda	
	Approval of previous minutes – 2019 AGM (attached)	
	Introduction of Guest	
	Finance	
	Election of Officers	
	Oath of Office	
	Adjourn meeting	

#### 1. Call to Order

Meeting called to order by Chair Grace McIver at 12:01pm.

### 2. Roll Call

As above – quorum met.

## 3. Approval of Agenda

**Motion**: That the Local 22000 2020 AGM be approved as circulated.

Brenda Isaac moved, Dan Ferguson seconded. Carried

# 4. Approval of Minutes - December 18 2019

**Motion:** That the minutes of the Local 22000 2019 AGM be approved as circulated. Dan Ferguson moved, Brenda Isaac seconded. Carried.

## 5. Guest Speaker Jamey Mills

# PSAC Local 22000

# **Draft minutes**

Jamey, as the PSAC BC Regional Executive Vice-President, briefly explained "directly chartered locals" and how Local 22000 fits within the PSAC structure. Jamey announced Brenda Isaac to receive the Emerging Activist Award, as nominated by Kim Trottier.

**Emerging Activist Award**: Awarded to a member of the BC Region who has proven themselves as a future leader of our union. Someone who has recently gotten more involved with our union and is taking on positions, learning more about our union and their collective agreement and is dedicating their time to justice for workers. This person should be a PSAC member in good standing and a member who works and lives in the BC Region.

### 6. Finance

Financial report was deferred until end of Dec/Jan 2021.

#### 7. Officer Election

The chair was passed to Monica to conduct the election. Monica explain the process, that all four positions (President, 1st Vice-President/Secretary, 2nd Vice-President, Treasurer) are available, and that the term was for two-years. Nomination can be received in writing in advance or from the floor, and each position was called 3 times before proceeding. Positions were acclaimed as below and Jamey Mills led the new Executive Officers in taking the Oath of Office.

President – Grace MacIver (nominated by Debby Peng, seconded by Brenda Isaac)

1st VP/Secretary – Debby Peng (nominated by Brenda Isaac; seconded by Neil Nabata)

2<sup>nd</sup> VP – Lazar Luck (nominated by Paul Clairmount and seconded by Jason Sells) Treasurer – Brenda Isaac (nominated by Debby Peng, seconded by Dan Ferguson)

### 8. Additional Business

Discussions on recent issues brought up by members:

- Disappointment in wage top-up: FNHA taking the federal government list of positions in distributing the fund – not recognizing/reflective of actual "field staff" work. Grace suggests members to express opinions in writing to respective managers; not a contractual issue otherwise.
- Reminder to check paystubs carefully some members experienced incorrect vacation carryover, sick leaves etc.
- Pension change proposed for 2022 positive and more education to come.

Meeting adjourned at 12:26.